eBay API Upgrade – Out of Stock Control


Reminder: Out of Stock Control is a setting that can only be applied to eBay items that are Fixed Price with a duration of Good Till Canceled.


How Does Out of Stock Control Previously Worked?


Previously, Out of Stock Control could be applied on an item by item basis with a toggle that exists in the product editor of the item. There was also a default setting in the eBay channel settings that can be set to automatically have Out of Stock Control applied to new items or have it off.


How Out of Stock Control Works Now?


eBay has changed Out of Stock Control so that it can be applied on an instance level. This means you can either have all your new items have Out of Stock Control on or off. There will be no option to have some items have it on and have some items have it off. By default, this toggle will be OFF In your Channel Settings even if you previously had items set up to have Out of Stock Control on. 


Changes in the UI


There is a new Out of Stock Control toggle added to the eBay channel settings that allows you to adjust the setting at an instance level. By default the toggle is turned off. The Out of Stock toggle previously seen in individual items' product editors will be removed. 


How Will These Changes Affect Listings Made Prior to Update?


Current listings are subject to change upon updating depending on what the listing is currently set to and how you decide to set Out of Stock Control for your instance. The following table will explain what will happen to your listing:


Does current listing have Out of Stock Control ON or OFF?

New Out of Stock Control Setting

Resulting Behavior

 

 

OFF

 

 

ON

Listing will have Out of Stock Control applied when the item is updated or relisted

 

ON

 

 

OFF

Listing will still have Out of Stock Control

 

OFF

 

 

OFF

Listing will still have Out of Stock Control NOT applied

 

ON

 

 

ON

Listing will still have Out of Stock Control applied

 



Note: When the change rolls out, your Out of Stock control setting will be set to Off by default. This will ensure that your existing listings with item level settings will not be affected by the update until you decide to change the setting to On.